Skip to main content

Managing Events in the Dashboard

How to delete and copy an event

Copying an Event

  1. Select the event you’d like to copy. From the left-hand side menu, select Overview.

  2. In the Actions drop-down menu in the top right, select Copy Event.

  3. In the Copy Event configuration window, update the event details as needed and select the date or dates for the copied event. You can create up to 20 copied events at a time.

When copying an event, most aspects of the original event are carried over, but you’ll still have control over key details like the title, timezone, address (if in person), and event dates. Event settings can also be customized after the copy is created.

Set Dates for Copied Events

You can create up to 20 copied events at a time by adding individual dates, setting a recurrence, or using both options together. Each date creates a separate event that you can edit, publish, and manage independently.

Add individual dates

Select Add Date to add another event date. Enter the start and end time for each date you add.

To remove a date, select the delete icon next to the date and confirm the deletion. At least one date must remain. Dates in the past cannot be added.

If the original event includes agenda items, the end time for each date is calculated automatically based on the original event’s duration. Enter the new start time, and Gradual will set the corresponding end time.

Set a recurrence

Select Set Recurrence to quickly generate a set of repeating event dates.

Enter the date and time of the First Event, then choose how often the event repeats:

  • Daily creates one event for each day.

  • Weekly creates events on the same day of the week as the First Event.

  • Monthly creates events on the same date of each month.

Enter the number of occurrences in Ends after. The First Event counts as the first occurrence. A preview of all generated dates appears before you add them.

For monthly events, if a month does not include the selected date, the event is scheduled for the last day of that month. The following event returns to the originally selected date when possible. For example, a monthly schedule beginning on January 31 will use the last day of February, followed by March 31.

Select Add Dates to add the generated dates to the Copy Event configuration window.

You can add up to 20 dates in total, including dates added individually and dates generated using Set Recurrence.

What Gets Copied to the New Events

Most of the original event’s content and settings are copied to each new event.

Does get copied over:

  • General info (title, description, cover images)

  • Tags

  • Editor permissions

  • Agenda

  • Stage settings

  • Speakers

  • Slides

  • Registration form

  • Roundtables

  • 1:1 event matching

  • System-generated event emails and email settings, including the sender name and sender email, registration confirmation email, event reminders, and post-event survey email. If a system-generated email was customized for the original event, its customized content and design are also copied.

  • SEO settings

  • Channels

  • Sponsors

Does not get copied over:

  • Promo codes

  • Ticket types

  • Attendees

  • Photos

  • Custom event emails

  • Event URL — each copied event receives its own unique URL

If the sender email used by the original event is no longer available in your community when you make the copy, the copied events will use your community’s default sender email and sender name instead.

Create the copied events

When you’re ready, select Copy to create the new events.

If any of the dates or times you selected overlap, Gradual will let you know before copying begins. Select Cancel to review your dates, or Continue to create the events with the overlapping times.

When copying multiple events, the copying process continues after it has started, so you can close the configuration window or leave the dashboard without interrupting it. You cannot start another copy from the same original event while the current copy is still in progress.

Gradual will send you an email when the copying process is complete. Each copied event is created as a separate draft and appears separately in your Event List. Review each event and publish it when you’re ready.

If Gradual cannot finish creating all of the events, none of the events from that copy action will be added to your Event List. You’ll receive an email letting you know that the copy was unsuccessful so you can try again.

Change Event Type

This feature is currently in the beta testing phase and needs to be enabled by the Gradual Team for communities. Reach out to [email protected] for more information.

Change event types after an event has already been created. Event type can only be changed once, and it cannot be changed after the event has started.

  1. Select the event you'd like to change the event type for. Then from the left hand side menu, select Overview.

  2. In the Actions drop down menu in top right, select Change Event Type.

  3. Type 'Agree' to move forward with changing the event type.

  • Meetings can be changed to a Livestream or Webinar.

  • Webinars can be changed to a Meeting or Livestream.

  • Livestreams can be changed to a Meeting, Webinar, or Hybrid Event.

  • In-person Events can be changed to a Hybrid Event.

  • Hybrid Events can be changed to an In-person Event or Livestream.

Note: Ticket availability is limited by event type. For example, webinars allow a maximum of 350 tickets, so if you’re converting an event to a webinar you’ll need to adjust the ticket quota to 350.

Delete an Event

  1. Select the event you'd like to delete. From the left hand side menu, select Overview.

  2. In the Actions drop down menu in top right, select Delete.

  3. Enter delete in the pop up box to confirm your action.

Note: Deleting the event will remove all instances of the event including registrations, calendar invites, and analytics associated with the event. Any attendees registered for this event will be automatically unregistered.

Note: Unpublishing or unlisting an event will remove it from the front end of your community, and remove it from search results but not delete the data, registrants, etc. from the dashboard.

Did this answer your question?